CBS U16’s qualify for Dunloe Final

UncategorisedComments Off on CBS U16’s qualify for Dunloe Final

Tralee CBS marched on to the Dunloe Cup final following a five star performance in which they led start to finish on Wednesday.

Following a comprehensive win for St Brendan’s in the Munster decider at U15 level last Friday, much of the same was expected at the next grade up with the Sem red-hot favourites going into this one.

The absence of Tralee star forward Jason Mortimer (Churchill) with a hamstring injury added credence to this belief, but Tralee raced into a four point to one lead after 10 with Sean Quilter, Fergal OBrien and Michael Kelliher with the scores.


A sloppy goal on 15 minutes levelled the scores, but in a pulsating game the Tralee boys added a further seven by half time to leave the scores 0-11 to 1-5 at the break.

Central to this free-flowing attacking football was the brilliant John Walsh at midfield as he continuously fed the elusive National Handball finalist Daire Keane who would end up the game with five points from play.

Into the second half and the crucial score of the game coming from the marauding Sean Quilter as he ran from half way before burying his shot to top corner.

This put The Green into a six point lead that they would not relinquish until the last minute.

Dominant in nearly every sector of the pitch, the Sem continuously perished on the Green half back line of Eoghan Carroll, Damien Bourke and Conor Corrigan and with the industrious Sean Hamilton and Daniel ORourke feeding O’Brien, Conor Myers and Kelliher the outcome never looked in doubt.

Padraig White, Josh OKeeffe and Graham Hudson manned the fort brilliantly as the Sem piled on the pressure, but only a late shot that beat David Oba embellished the score line for a disappointing Killarney outfit.

The Green then anticipate a Dunloe Cup final on December 14th and a potential mouth watering all Tralee show down with Mounthawk who play St Patrick’s Castleisland in the other semi final on Friday December 9th.

1 David Oba (Austin Stacks)
2 Padraig White (John Mitchels)
3 Josh OKeeffe (Ballymac)
4 Graham Hudson (John Mitchels)
5 Conor Corrigan(Churchill)(0-1)
6 Damien Bourke (NaGaeil)
7 Eoghan Carroll (Austin Stacks)
8 John Walsh (Knocknagoshel)(0-3)
9 Sean Quilter (Austin Stacks)(1-3, 1f)
10 Daniel O’Rourke (Austin Stacks)
11 Fergal O’Brien (St Pats, Blennerville)(0-4)
12 Sean Hamilton (Churchill)
13 Daire Keane (Ballymac)(0-5)
14 Michael Kelliher (John Mitchels)(0-4,2f)
15 Conor Myers (Austin Stacks)

Subs not used
Ben Foley (Keirns ORahillys) inj
Jason Mortimer (Churchill) inj
Conor Hayes(Kerins ORahillys)
Paul Linehan (Churchill)
David Couchman (Austin Stacks)
Dean Scanlan (Austin Stacks)
Barry Foley(Kerins ORahillys)
Tadhg Brick (Ballymac)
Jack Dolan(Churchill)
Cillian Gallagher (Ballymac)
Darrion Hurley (John Mitchels)

© 2016 The Green CBS Secondary School, Tralee. All rights reserved.